Thanks Barstool! Slut-Shaming at its Finest

Leave a comment

April 12, 2013 by gabnormal

First, I would like to say a quick thank you to Barstool. They’ve not only made my job easier, they’ve created the finest work of slut-shaming aimed at college girls that I have seen to date.

Kudos. Good job! You guys get a gold star for this one. (I’m looking at you, KFC).

Now, I don’t read Barstool.

For obvious reasons that I shouldn’t have to state, I don’t see the point in wasting my time on a site that hosts “blackout” events, is made “By the common man, for the common man,” and has the nerve to call itself a work of journalism.

That being said, I saw this article when my friend Ian posted it on Facebook. His caption said, “Just when I thought nobody could find a way to intensify the act of slut-shaming, this little gem was born. Though I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that it comes from a site called Barstool U.”

But really tho. Ian really hit the nail on the head with that one.

I have many problems with this article. Let me start with:

1: The stereotypes of the College Party Girl, the Southern Belle, the Christian Bad Girl and every other damning phrase that is associated with young females have got to go. Now. These terms perpetuate the ability to say things such as the claims made on barstoolsports.com.

They’re degrading, unfounded and damaging to women everywhere, and not just the age group they’re aimed at.

2: The double standard that is so blatant in this article and the accompanying comments is atrocious. Even the author states that he would go to a college where there are two females for every male. Obviously, if there be bitches, they’ll wanna fuck. I mean, they are all sluts, right?

3: An article like this would never exist for the male student body. Or any male body. Why? Because not only are males applauded for celebrating their sexuality and banging as many bitches as they can, words such as slut, whore, trashy and ho are solely dedicated to females. (So is the word bitch, which by definition describes a spiteful woman. We’ll get into my feelings on that word at another time).

A big part of the problem lies in our use and the definition of these words in and of themselves.

Don’t try to reclaim them. Get rid of them entirely. These words need to go, and hopefully slut-shaming will go with them.

Leave a Reply

Archives

