Angelina Jolie Gets Double Mastectomy and Still Feels Beautiful

Leave a comment

May 17, 2013 by gabnormal

Tuesday Angelina Jolie announced that she went through a double mastectomy as a preventive measure against breast cancer.

Her op-ed in the New York Times explains the process she went through and how she is more than happy with her decision.

Before I go any further, I think that it’s smart for women reading Jolie’s piece to also read this piece, which is like many others that have recently been released, in regards to the genes BRCA-1 and BRCA-2, before becoming scared into getting a surgery that is unnecessary.

What I do love about Jolie’s piece is that she explains that she hasn’t lost her sense of femininity. As a female who was never comfortable with the shape of her body growing up and who still harbors some insecurity about her B-cup bra, I find Jolie’s statement empowering in this form.

I realized long ago how certain aspects of my appearance – the length of my hair, how much cleavage I show, the amount of makeup around my non-cat eye shaped eyes – affected me in terms of how much of a woman I felt like. I do have a small waist, but if it’s not accentuated I don’t feel feminine. My hair hasn’t been cut above my shoulders since I was 16 and I almost always wear shirts with some sort of v-neckline.

Femininity, to those it is relevant to, is an incredibly large part of a person’s identity. It determines and dictates many aspects of not only the way someone dresses, but the way in which they interact with others in many different settings including but not limited to: the workplace, school, social settings, family gatherings, romantic relationship settings and friendship settings. It is also largely related to the way in which a person feels about themselves and is closely linked to self-confidence, two main aspects of personality that effect all of the above relationships that I mentioned, and more that I forgot.

Body image, femininity, masculinity are huge topics that have been covered to death in many different mediums. The point I am trying to make in as few words as possible is this: I think Angelina Jolie is one bad ass bitch for taking the initiative to go through with such a procedure and still feel as beautiful and feminine as she did before. Even with implants, I know that I would not feel the same as she if I were in her position, and I admire her strength, her self-confidence and her lack of fear in the face of a life changing experience.

Leave a Reply

Archives

