How Does Taylor Swift Feel About the Feminist Account Created in Her Name?

Leave a comment

June 17, 2013 by gabnormal

The newest internet sensation that I’m really excited about is the feminist Taylor Swift twitter account, created by Brown University student, Clara Beyer.

Let me just say that I never thought feminist and Taylor Swift would be in a sentence together in a way that I would appreciate, but Beyer has an awesome thing going here. She’s essentially attacking everything that Swift sings about, covering everything from gender expression, to consent, to reproductive rights to the patriarchy so many women live with today.

The only problem that I have with this account is that Beyer says she actually likes TSwift. I’ll admit, the pop singers tunes are extra catchy – I can’t say that I “like” her but have I been known to sing obnoxiously by myself, in my car about Romeo’s and white dresses and being 22 and confused, just to embarrassingly find myself being caught by people walking on the street? Yes. Yes I have.

I have an innate dislike for Swift, solely due to the image she is projecting to her primarily young and impressionable fans, along with the fact that she is consistently perpetuating the stereotypes that oppress women which I am vehemently fighting against, all while making a lot more money doing what she does compared to what I do. This last part just adds insult to injury.

With tweets that say “I guess you didn’t care / And I guess I liked that / But now I reject the idea that apathetic men are sexy / Because I deserve respect” and “Drop everything now / Meet me in the pouring rain / Kiss me on the sidewalk / I’m comfortable expressing my sexual desire” I really wish I could find out how the real Taylor Swift feels about all of this.

Beyer has also been flooded with lyric tweets from followers, one of which may or may not have been used without credit.

I don’t know which came first, but this is the exchange that followed:

Screen Shot 2013-06-16 at 10.13.50 PM

In a very childish response, Noodle (I don’t know if that’s her real name) said:

Screen Shot 2013-06-16 at 10.11.35 PM

This new account, MisogynistSwift, may be an immature form of retaliation, but for someone who says they’re a feminist, it’s a blatant attack on everything feminists the world over are fighting for. And, if I may point out, she even admits it’s awful. So why do it?

Feminist T Swift’s bio says she’s “Happy. Free. Confused. Oppressed by the patriarchy. At the same time.”

Welp, that just about sums it up.

Leave a Reply

Archives

