Barbie vs. Real Women: The Unrealistic Expectations, The Body Image, The Dream House

1

July 3, 2013 by gabnormal

The war on Barbie has been an ongoing one wherein the main battle is over her physical dimensions, which are far beyond impossible for an actual human woman to achieve.

Artist Nickolay Lamm created a 3-D model of what Barbie would look like if she were based on the body of an average 19-year-old woman.

The comparison looks like this:

Barbie v. Realistic Barbie

Negative body image affects women – and girls – of all ages. From the age of around five I have been unhappy with my body. I’m happy with my height – 5’3″ – but not with everything else. I don’t have a thigh gap, my breasts are too small and my stomach is too big. In sixth grade I was the first girl in my class to go to juniors sizes from kids – I went straight from a kids size 16 to a juniors 3, which is a pretty large jump. I can’t say that growing up with just about every Barbie doll ever made helped the way I looked at myself, and for people who say “It’s just a toy,” let me elaborate further.

Barbie is blonde. Barbie is skinny and her eyeliner never smears. Barbie has Ken, the perfect man. Barbie has a Dream Car, and a Dream House, and a Dream Life, because the house, the car and the man all come easily to her, especially since Barbie doesn’t have real-world responsibilities like a job, much less a Dream Job. Barbie is beautiful. Even her name is perfect – it has become associated with the type of woman who has it all. Don’t think I haven’t used it as a slur when my jealousy overflows and I see other women who in my eyes, “have it all.”

Everyone wants to be Barbie. Being Barbie, is also 100% impossible.

Barbie, with her wonderful life and body and car and husband-thing, sets the bar high in unrealistic expectations. No matter how good things are going in the real world, there will always be something that is just not working out. From car payments and student loan debt to burnt toast and bad hair days, there will never be a time in anyone’s life where every single detail is perfect.

This is why I love the new Barbie. She shows young girls that you can be beautiful and happy at a size that is normal.

Mattel – you better have these coming off the production line in time for the holidays. Christmas 2013 Barbie better come in brunette and red head too.

One thought on “Barbie vs. Real Women: The Unrealistic Expectations, The Body Image, The Dream House

  1. […] how much effect your toys growing up have on you, which is why there has been much debate over Barbie and her unrealistic […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

