Dior Finally Casts Black Models For Runway Show

Leave a comment

July 3, 2013 by gabnormal

High fashion, haute couture, the runway. All of this brings to mind skinny white girls in ugly clothes that cost more than my car.

Until now…sort of. On Monday Dior – who usually scores low on the diversity scale – debuted six black models in their Haute Couture Fall/Winter 2013-2014 collection. This is the first time under creative direction of Raf Simon that Dior has included models of color in its show. This means that over the course of seven collections and numerous campaigns and lookbooks, Dior only featured white models. This time around Joan Smalls, Alek Wek, Maria Borges, Grace Mahary, Yasmin Warsame and Kelly Moreira were the models of color who were cast for this show.

Model Jourdan Dunn was dropped because of her boobs…..this is something I’ll have to get into later.

Although this is a great step forward in the world of fashion, it’s the first of many steps, and a baby one at that. Nine times out of ten I see white faces on the runway, which is one of the many reasons I tend to avoid fashion altogether.

I like looking good and checking out new styles just like any other person who’s concerned about their appearance, but I don’t like looking at girls that make me feel bad about the cheeseburger I just ate. It just doesn’t sit well with me on so many levels.

I also disagree with the notion that all-white runways project to viewers. Essentially, high fashion tells its audience that in order to be beautiful, you have to be white. Any variation on this is not beautiful and therefore is not allowed on the runway.

To combat this I’m going to create my own high fashion line of clothing and cast an equal amount of white, black, Native American, Hispanic, Asian and Middle Eastern women. That is all.

Leave a Reply

Archives

