Hatred Abounds: Retaliation to SCOTUS Decision on Prop 8 and DOMA in Full Swing

Leave a comment

July 8, 2013 by gabnormal

This article appeared in the Huffington Post on Friday and speaks volumes to what America as a nation is experiencing during these changing times.

I’ve read about hatred, seen footage of hatred from civil rights protests that took place some 50 years ago, and have been educated on it from the time I was in elementary school when my teachers explained why we didn’t have to come to class on Martin Luther King Day.

I have never, in my two-decades-plus years on this earth, witnessed hatred at first-hand as I have in recent times. It is incredible, in a disgusting-kind-of-way, the degree to which one person can hate another person – a person who they have never even seen nor heard of. I don’t understand how anyone can hold that much hatred inside them for any given amount of time, but it makes me sad.

Changes such as these take decades upon decades, and as far as I’m concerned racism does still exist in America, despite the leaps and bounds American society has taken towards racial equality. This means that it will take decades upon decades before same-sex marriage and LGBTQ community members become something not to be gawked at, not to be judged and stereotyped and threatened and hated. I hope I live to see the day, but I have a sinking feeling I won’t.

History does repeat.

Leave a Reply

Archives

