If I Had a Dad, I Would Want This Guy to be Him

Leave a comment

August 14, 2013 by gabnormal

DADD__52705_zoom

The Good Men Project began in 2009 and is essentially aimed at creating a community of men who are looking to be good fathers, husbands and friends – generally good people all around while also taking a look at what it means to be a “real man” today.

The site recently posted this piece titled “Dear Daughter: I Hope You Have Awesome Sex,” an open letter from father Ferret Steinmetz to his daughter about sex.

And it’s nothing like what you would expect.

He opens with the idiocy of “10 Rules for Dating My Daughter” and proceeds to explain, very well, that these rules are not only outdated but damaging to every female ever.

The old joke that daughters need to be locked away in a closet until their 30 to be protected from every male predator (and there’s a ton of them) who roams the earth needs to die. No only is this damaging as it portrays women as helpless, defenseless, stupid creatures who need their parents guidance well past the age of maturity, it paints all men as disrespectful, ravenous creatures who completely lack self control and must be kept away from women at all times.

I can’t say this about many things, but in this case I can absolutely promise that none of that is true.

I don’t know my dad. I met him once when I was two and haven’t seen/heard from him since. I also didn’t even remember that I had met him (because I was so young) until my mom told me about it. So if I had a dad, I would want this guy to be him.

The original piece was first published here, under a slightly different title.

Leave a Reply

Archives

