Instagranniepants Objectifies the Men on Tinder, and It’s Awesome

Leave a comment

April 25, 2014 by gabnormal

Credit: Anna Gensler

Credit: Anna Gensler

Ever gone on Tinder? It’s probably similar to most other online dating sites. A few people go on to actually meet singles in their area that they get along well with who are also looking for a serious relationship, while others go on just to get laid, and do it in the most creepy and objectifying way possible.

This is where artist Anna Gensler comes in. She gives full disclosure that any dude who creeps on her will get a displeasing cartoon drawn of them. Still, they seem to do it anyway. But that’s totally cool, because it has given us her Instagram and now Tumblr accounts.

Gensler told Slate, “I feel like this gets me in trouble a lot, but when someone does something I think is rude, I always want to give them a taste of their own medicine. I’m an artist, and I try to use art as my weapon, even though that sounds so lame. So I thought, “What is something I can do to make me feel the way that they’re making me feel?” Obviously, I couldn’t just send them back a sexy message, because they would love that. They would be like, “Yay, it worked!” So I just started doodling how I would imagine them naked … except sad-naked. It was the most immature thing I could think of, because their pickup lines are the most juvenile, basic things, but also still oddly offensive.”

PS I love the term “sad-naked” and I plan to insert it into my every day vocabulary.

But now that we’re done rejoicing over the fact that Anna is awesome enough to share with us her accounts of objectification being a two-way street, there seems to be a problem. Instagram seems to have a problem with doodles of men with small penises, but they don’t have any problems with half-naked, or completely naked girls. This is why Anna has now created a second Insta account, to accommodate the Gram’s terms and conditions.

We’ll wait and see what happens with Anna’s original Instagram account, but until then, FREE INSTAGRANNIEPANTS! Someone make that into a t-shirt before I do.

Leave a Reply

Archives

